Respected words of Ali[ra] for Umar[ra]


Sahih hadiths from Ali bin Abi talib[ra] to show the love & respect between him & umar[ra] & usman[ra]. This post is specially for jahil shia’s who always try to portray a lie of rivalry between them.

as i said:

& Hafiz ibn Katheer in “Bidaya wal Nihaya” vol 7, chapter “شيء من فضائل أمير المؤمنين علي بن أبي طالب” wrote:

وقد ثبت عنه بالتواتر أنه قال على منبر الكوفة‏:‏ أيها الناس‏!‏ إن خير هذه الأمة بعد نبيها أبو بكر ثم عمر، ولو شئت أن أسمي الثالث لسميت‏

“And it’s proven from him [Ali] in “tawatur” form, that He said on the minbaar in Kufa: “O people! The best one in this Ummah after her Prophet is Abu Bakr [ra] , then Umar [ra] . And if I wanted to say you the third name, I would do that.”

So what is the ruling of denying tawatur? Few weak and gharib narrations or narrations took out of context can’t over rule tawatur and Ijma.

Death of Umar[ra]:

Narrated Ibn Abbas: When (the dead body of) ‘umar was put on his deathbed, the people gathered around him and invoked (Allah) and prayed for him before the body was taken away, and I was amongst them. Suddenly I felt somebody taking hold of my shoulder and found out that he was ‘ali bin Abi Talib. ‘ali invoked Allah’s Mercy for ‘umar and said, “O ‘umar! You have not left behind you a person whose deeds I like to imitate and meet Allah with more than I like your deeds. By Allah! I always thought that Allah would keep you with your two companions, for very often I used to hear the Prophet saying, ‘I, abu bakr and ‘umar went (somewhere); I, abu bakr and ‘umar entered (somewhere); and I, abu bakr and ‘umar went out.”‘ (Sahih Bukhari Book #57, Hadith #34).

Narrated Ibn ‘Abbas: While I was standing amongst the people who were invoking Allah for umar bin Al-Khattab who was lying on his deathbed, a man behind me rested his elbows on my shoulder and said, “(O ‘umar!) May Allah bestow His Mercy on you. I always hoped that Allah will keep you with your two companions, for I often heard Allah’s Apostle saying, “I, abu bakr and ‘umar were (somewhere). I, abu bakr and ‘umar did (something). I, abu bakr and ‘umar set out.’ So I hoped that Allah will keep you with both of them.” I turned back to see that the speaker was ali bin Abi Talib. (Sahih Bukhari Book #57, Hadith #26)

Leave a comment

Filed under Clarification about sunni hadiths

Leave a Reply

